Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby cb4ever104 » 10 Aug 2013, 06:31

bigpimp347 wrote:no wonder these were only £125..


I can almost get them brabd new for that price .

Sammy
30TM060
(108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group / ex GM0 , now EA5
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in the "day"
Radios ..... anything UNIDEN that says TAIWAN on the back.
User avatar
cb4ever104
Top Poster
Top Poster
 
Posts: 2189
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby bigpimp347 » 10 Aug 2013, 08:08

*edit to say £135 after seeing the advert*

these radios are from spain..or sold to the spanish market.
the serial sticker says

'emisora receptor CB/27' i know a bit of spanish,
CE stamped and of course made in china..

so i suspect these are factory/shop returns, bought by someone in the know via someone in a lot of know to be repaired/bodged and sold..

ok nothing wrong with repairing faulty goods for resale after all thats what graded items are, or shop returns..
but to sell them as brand new when clearly they are not, they should be advertised as what they are possible shop turns.

the insides being a mess is maybe covered by the advert stating all their radios are 'tested and aligned' prior to despatch, which was on a few of their older adverts for rados, i suppose if you say your radios have been tested and aligned prior to sale then that would answer why most the post stickers are broke, wax is clearly been touched and other dodgy looking soldering.

also this is from his advert..

FM 1.2 WATTS TO 20 WATTS VARIABLE actual 0w to 13w
AM 1.5 WATTS TO 10 WATTS VARIABLE actual 6w swing to 8w (thats your lot)
SSB VOICE PEAKS 3 WATTS TO 20 WATTS VARIABLE i never saw more than 5w on SSB.
SSB WHISTLE 5 WATTS TO 30 WATTS VARIABLE just touched 20 if i was lucky,

and lets not forget it warbled like crap too..!!!

(i would be grateful if some has the voltages for the mosfet set up as turning both down a fraction has cleared up the audio no end on SSB but i want it right)
Image
Image

http://livecbradio.co.uk UK's only 24/7 live stream
User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 7288
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby astradyne » 11 Aug 2013, 00:39

Mudslinger wrote:I was tempted to buy one, and I am glad I didn't now.


Same here. No wonder the price was so low on them. I'm glad I decided against it. That workmanship really is a disgrace.

Of course returning it wouldn't be an option as they would just say you've had the lids off and done that yourself. It was tested fine when it left them blah blah.

Poor show for radio zing indeed.

Does anyone know the name of their "tech" ? Not COBRAWORXSHOPZ is it :lol:
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...
User avatar
astradyne
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 3895
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby bigpimp347 » 14 Dec 2013, 15:41

*UPDATE*

this radio caught fire..!!!!

no tish he was chatting with his mate and his signal faded, then smoke filled his car..
he took it out quick and a lot of smoke was pouring out the back..
now TX was less than 10w as power was turned down inside.
wiring in the car was good, engine running so around 13.8v

I've seen the damage.

a large cap and a ferrite link have fell out the board in the regulator area, both sides of the board around the tracks to the regulator are black and burnt, fuse did not blow,
now there are components in said area that can not be identified, even looking t an albrecht/magnum i can find the cap, not the ferrite link.

also noted a bodge on the back of the driver mosfet, where it is bolted to the metal frame there was a large piece of alloy bolted to it, lets say this is loose and touching a SMD on the board, also the insulator on said mosfet is melted
maybe both are linked ??

so if you own an itica check the alloy heatsink on the driver. make sure it's not loose or able to move (it has one screw off center holding it in)
also be aware it might catch fire for no reason :)

he's contacting the seller and see i he can zing the radio back to them as it's only 4 month or so old.
if i get to see it again i'll get some photo's of it :)

no wonder they were cheap..!!
Image
Image

http://livecbradio.co.uk UK's only 24/7 live stream
User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 7288
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby 26FB308 » 21 Dec 2013, 17:45

I too had one of these for a short while, it was fine, however when sold it the new buyer had some issues with it. I had the lid off just to move the jumpers, the board was much cleaner than that. I spoke with Simon at RZ who told me that they did not twiddle with them before sale, and yes they came in from Spain.
26FB308
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 21 Nov 2013, 22:34

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby bigpimp347 » 21 Dec 2013, 19:29

funny that as all his radios on his sales he claims are tested and tuned and aligned before sale :)
so he must ship them to his semi-retired rig doctor in wales to butcher them..
either way, this said one has been returned and if he 'see's fit' he'll exchange it..

i doubt even his one day a week rig tech could sort that pile of crap out..
Image
Image

http://livecbradio.co.uk UK's only 24/7 live stream
User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 7288
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby Base Jumper » 22 Dec 2013, 15:46

bigpimp347 wrote:it's not mine, it's a mates,
not saying what radio zing place it was but they were cheap for a reason, maybe this is it ??



Why not just say he got it from Radio Zing on ebay ?
You can shoot your mouth off about most things, so why sit on the fence now ?

Looks like Cobraworxshopz welding ...sorry soldering
Base Jumper
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 05 Jan 2010, 16:46
Location: London/Germany

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby bigpimp347 » 22 Dec 2013, 18:41

Base Jumper wrote:Why not just say he got it from Radio Zing on ebay ?
You can shoot your mouth off about most things, so why sit on the fence now ?

Looks like Cobraworxshopz welding ...sorry soldering


but because you don't want to incriminate anyone or say anything slanderous that could land you in trouble..

but thanks for pointing it out.
Image
Image

http://livecbradio.co.uk UK's only 24/7 live stream
User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 7288
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby rizz » 26 Dec 2013, 12:16

cb4ever104 wrote:
bigpimp347 wrote:no wonder these were only £125..


I can almost get them brabd new for that price .

Sammy


I didnt think they made these anymore ? are these and the jopix superstar 3900,s being made again or are they new old stock ?
Yaesu FT950, Yaesu FT7900, Yeasu MD100, Superstar 3900 Red Display, Adonis 308, Astatic road devil, alinco dm330, 66ft OCFD, 9ft Tankwhip in loft , Diamond X200, Sirio Top One, Microset 27-200T Amp (Optima 3 superb rx great ssb tx, fm tx is crap,)
rizz
Super Member
Super Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 04 Jul 2010, 09:10
Location: Essex

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby bigpimp347 » 26 Dec 2013, 13:48

here's the latest..
radiozing took one look inside the radio and send my mate a brand new one..!!

if it's like the original in the post it'll need to work before it's really usable, but they honor'd their crap radios..

i still say they bought them as factory returns and had them 'fixed' hence why they are so cheap, or were :)
Image
Image

http://livecbradio.co.uk UK's only 24/7 live stream
User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 7288
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby Base Jumper » 26 Dec 2013, 16:13

bigpimp347 wrote:here's the latest..
radiozing took one look inside the radio and send my mate a brand new one..!!

if it's like the original in the post it'll need to work before it's really usable, but they honor'd their crap radios..

i still say they bought them as factory returns and had them 'fixed' hence why they are so cheap, or were :)



Glad to see you've found your back bone, It will be interesting to see if it was just a one off ( which can happen ) or like you say factory returns.
The truth is out there 8)
Base Jumper
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 05 Jan 2010, 16:46
Location: London/Germany

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby Warden » 26 Dec 2013, 16:44

I think your mate went inside screw drivering and this was the end result maybe. :?: There must be lots of people out there who go inside fiddling then when it breaks try to blame the shop/supplier. Be very careful what you post about companies on the internet without a shred of evidence.
I have bought from the same company and not had a single faulty item. Just ordered another radio today. Will post again when it arrives and give an update of the radio and condition.
26-TM-612

Stryker SR-955HP, President Grant 2, Kenwood TM-V71E, Maas AMT-9000, Baofeng UV-5R x2, Uniden Trucker, Lafayette LM-300, Royce 611, Icom IC-7100



No one rules if no one obeys.
User avatar
Warden
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
 
Posts: 634
Joined: 19 Dec 2013, 09:12
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby Mudslinger » 26 Dec 2013, 17:33

As long as what is posted is the truth then there shouldn't be any libel issues.
Mudslinger - Simon
26TM274
26CT612
User avatar
Mudslinger
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 3335
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 07:11
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby bigpimp347 » 26 Dec 2013, 18:17

Warden wrote:I think your mate went inside screw drivering and this was the end result maybe. :?: There must be lots of people out there who go inside fiddling then when it breaks try to blame the shop/supplier. Be very careful what you post about companies on the internet without a shred of evidence.
I have bought from the same company and not had a single faulty item. Just ordered another radio today. Will post again when it arrives and give an update of the radio and condition.


as you can see from the original pictures, this was a BRAND NEW radio already twiddled when my mate bought it BRAND NEW from Radiozing.
so some screwdriver wielding fairy got in there and broke all the stickers and twiddled it and ballsed all the power up..
i took the photo's while i was setting the power back up to a more usable power, which anyone knows me it's around 10w AM/FM and up to 20w SSB for supposedly high power radios.
the radio has been working fine and quite literally just caught fire.

there has been no twiddling, no CBer's or idiots in the radio, he buys a lot of new radios, and also buys and sells as new condition radios, he never takes lids off, i can guarantee it.

any way, the radio was replaced with a new radio, I've yet to check inside to see if it was the same abortion as the last one, but who knows..
Image
Image

http://livecbradio.co.uk UK's only 24/7 live stream
User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 7288
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham

Re: Jopix Itaca now i know why they're so cheap..!!

Postby razmouk » 28 Jan 2014, 09:42

I bought one of these early last year from radiozing for £125. I was really pleased with it initially, was perfect for where I was intending to use it.
Like others have said, out of the blue, thick white smoke started bellowing from the back of the radio. No safety cutout occurred and if I hadn't been present who knows what could have happened in my home. I was on low power, a swr of 1:1, and a constant 13.8 v from a diamond psu. I didn't bother going inside, the seals were intact, I simply returned it to radiozing. After several email exchanges, they agreed to refund money due to no replacements being in stock. Sadly, they implied that I must have been at fault because the finals had blown. I know my setup is and was perfect and felt pretty insulted about the accusation but thankful I had my money refunded.
I have had plenty of gear from radiozing, and all have been fine other than this. What really annoys me after reading this thread is that this problem was obviously not an isolated problem, yet I was made to feel guilty!
Anyway, nice radio really, looked great and worked a1, but only good for bonfires!
Razamataz since 1982.......
Blackpool and St Asaph.

26TM036

Nostalgic Harrier Homebase with Ham Master 4200 on my desk.
Amstrad 901 in 'Bobby' our VW T25 Campervan

Tucked away and boxed: Rotel 240, Binatone 5 Star, Fidelity 2000, Harvard Handheld, Amstrad 901, Midland 2001, Rotel 220...etc
User avatar
razmouk
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 20:59
Location: North West Coast

PreviousNext

Return to CB & 11m Multi-Mode Radio Equipment Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kilrymont and 7 guests